Search This Blog- Enter the tip # or a keyword(s)

Thursday, May 18, 2017

1809. Delete a Facebook Post


Last week, I posted on Facebook and then a few days later, realized that I really shouldn’t have posted the information. I couldn’t find a way to delete the posting, and now I’m in trouble. Did I miss something obvious? Can you, in fact, delete a Facebook posting?

We are not fans of Facebook (old guys, as a rule, don’t “get” social media) but we can see your concern! It was a big darned deal with Ken’s niece announced she was pregnant on Facebook, before telling her parents! Yikes. That was ugly!

What we learned there is that there is such a thing as “too much sharing,” and yes, you can (and often should) delete Facebook posts. The answer is really quite simple, and it’s consistent across all Facebook platforms. If you locate an post you’ve made, click the down-arrow in the upper-right corner of the message. From the drop-down menu that appears, select the Delete option. Once you do that, your post will be deleted from your Timeline and from any of your friends’ feeds. If your friends shared your post, it will no longer be available online. There’s nothing you can if people copied/pasted your post, however. Good luck with that!

We’re wondering if it’s time for Ms. Online Manners to have a word about what’s appropriate to be posted on Facebook (or other public media). There’s no guide for what’s acceptable or even reasonable, so we’ll stay out of it. Think twice, however, about posting life-altering events (marriages, pregnancies, and so on) without telling your immediate family IRL (in real life) first. They’ll appreciate the notice.



No comments:

Post a Comment